top of page

Meat Sommelier. Wagyu Meister

Japanese Wagyu grading system

Wagyu beef grading in Japan 🇯🇵 is a serious business !

Japanese Wagyu Beef is strictly graded by the Japanese Meat Grading Association

The grade of wagyu is dictated by a letter for YIELD GRADE (from A to C) and a number for MEAT QUALITY GRADE (from 1 to 5).

These two indicators combined together show the grading of beef. For example, “A5” means the best yield grade and best meat quality grade.

Because YIELD GRADE shows how much meat could be taken from carcass, it is mainly for producers and distributors to set the price. Consumers, do not have to worry too much about this . What matters more to consumers is MEAT QUALITY GRADE

MEAT QUALITY GRADE (1 TO 5), is graded by four factors of meat quality:

- Marbling (BMS). Is one of the main characteristics of wagyu, and it is the “flecks” of fat in the meat - Color (BCS)

- Firmness & texture

- Fat color (BFS)

- Meat Color & Brigthness (BCS)

Grades of 1-5 would be given to all four factors, and the lowest grade of all four would be the Meal Quality Grade of a cattle. 5 is the best, 1 is worst.

Hope you enjoy !

Lean Gentini 🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷#meatsommelier


bottom of page