top of page

Wagyu Breeds




👋 Here some information about Wagyu breeds!

Wagyu means "Japanese cow" but in Japan 🇯🇵 , not any cattle can be considered “Wagyu”.

Only four breeds, native to Japan and genetically unique, can be considered Wagyu as follows:
- Japanese Black. The most renowned Wagyu breed representing more than 90% of all Wagyu in Japan. Main brands are KOBE, OMI, Ozaki and Matsusaka.
- Japanese Brown. Commonly known in USA as “Japanese red”. While not as famed than Japanese Black, this breed still produces a significant marbling content.
- Japanese Polled. Mix between Japanese native cattle and Angus. Lean meat with friendly flavor to palate.
- Japanese Shorthorn. A rare breed of Wagyu only found in Japan representing less than 1% of Wagyu cattle.

Only "Japanese Wagyu" is pure breed while “non-Japanese Wagyu" are crossbred since Japan’s export of live cattle Wagyu is restricted. However, production of crossbred Wagyu outside Japan is spreading rapidly. Some examples of good quality “non-japanese Wagyu” are Heartbrand ranch in Texas @heartbrandbeef producing “Akaushi” or Japanese red, or Morgan Ranch in Texas producing American Wagyu @morganranchbeef, or Robbins Island ranch in Australia producing Polled Wagyu @robbinsislandwagyu

Hope you enjoy it 🙏

Lean Gentini 🇯🇵🇯🇵🇯🇵🇦🇷🇦🇷🇦🇷

bottom of page